Dakar Region trip planner

Create a fully customized
day by day itinerary for free

Itinerary planner

+ Add destination
2 adults
- +
- +
- +
Trip Planner Africa  /  Senegal  /  Dakar Region

Dakar Region

Specialty Museums · Monuments · Landmarks
Dakar region is the smallest and most populated region of Senegal, encompassing the capital city of the country, Dakar, and all its suburbs along the Cap–Vert Peninsula, Africa's most westerly point.AdministrationThe Dakar region is divided into four départements (administrative structures without political power, unlike the French départements). The départements had the following areas and populations at the Census of 2013:Dakar departmentDakar Department is also a commune (city). This is a situation comparable to Paris which is both a department and a commune. The department/commune of Dakar is further divided into: 4 arrondissements, which are administrative structures without much power. The arrondissements are further divided into:19 communes d'arrondissement (i.e. "communes of arrondissement"). The communes d'arrondissement have a lot of power, unlike the arrondissements of Paris, and are more comparable to the London boroughs.Guédiawaye departmentGuédiawaye Department is also a commune (city). This department has only one arrondissement, so that Guédiawaye is both a department and an arrondissement. The department /arrondissement/commune of Guédiawaye is further divided into: 5 communes d'arrondissement
Take stress off the schedule by using our Senegal journey tool.
Create a full itinerary — for free!

Plan your trip to Dakar Region

  • Get a personalized trip
    A complete day by day itinerary
    based on your preferences
  • Customize it
    Refine your trip. We'll find the
    best routes and schedules
  • Book it
    Choose from the best hotels
    and activities. Up to 50% off
  • Manage it
    Everything in one place.
    Everyone on the same page.

Places to visit in Dakar Region